Town Council

Regular Meetings

  • 6:00 pm
  • 2nd Monday of every month
  • Council Chambers
    Town of Rocky Mount Municipal Building
    345 Donald Avenue
    Rocky Mount, VA  24151

The Town of Rocky Mount encourages all of its citizens to actively participate in Town government.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

  1. C. Holland Perdue III

    C. Holland Perdue


    Mayor Perdue was elected in 2022. Prior to running for Mayor, he served on the Rocky Mount Board of Zoning Appeals starting in 2015 until 2022. Mayor Perdue is a lifelong resident of Rocky Mount. He completed his undergraduate studies at Virginia Tech and went on to earn his law degree at Appalachian School of Law. He is also a member of the Commonwealth Alliance for Rural Colleges. Following in his father’s footsteps, Mayor Perdue currently practices law in Rocky Mount.

  1. Stockton_BillyWayne

    Billie W. Stockton

    Vice Mayor

    Vice Mayor Stockton was elected in May 2012. His love for the Town of Rocky Mount and the desire to see the community progress are the driving forces behind his aspirations to public office. He is a graduate of Franklin County High School and Jefferson County University in Watertown, NY. Following a six-year stint in the U.S. Army, Mr. Stockton devoted his thirty-year career to law enforcement, serving as the Franklin County Sheriff's Office Chief Deputy. He enjoys walking, traveling, family time and riding motorcycles. He is an avid volunteer who is always willing to help and believes that volunteering and giving back to the community is very important. Currently, Mr. Stockton is enjoying his retirement with his wife, Janet Stockton.

  1. Casey_Ralph

    A. Ralph Casey

    Council Member

    Council Member Casey was appointed to Rocky Mount Town Council on February 17, 2021 to serve the remaining term for retiring Council Member Bobby Cundiff. He was elected to Town Council in November 2022. Council Member Casey has been serving our community for many years in a variety of ways He retired from AEP in 2008 after 35 years with the company and has always been willing to share his electrical knowledge with those who needed his counsel. Currently, he raises several gardens in Franklin County where he plants corn, tomatoes, beets, green beans and squash, all of which is shared with the community. Council Member Casey served as Citizen Representative for 22 years on the West Piedmont Planning District Commission and is now one of the Rocky Mount Town Council Representatives to that Commission. Council Member Casey has been an avid bowler since 1968. He won his first national tournament in Long Island, NY in 1969 and has participated in the sport from Canada to Florida to California and all over the United States and once considered turning professional. He currently substitutes for others in the Roanoke area and for a short time served on the Roanoke Bowling Association. Council Member Casey lives in Rocky Mount with his wife of 54 years Leola. They have 4 grown children and 6 grandchildren. The Casey’s attend services at a Community Church in Martinsville.

  1. Benjamin K. Mullins

    Benjamin K. Mullins

    Council Member

    Council Member Mullins was elected in November 2022. Council Member Mullins is a lifelong resident of Rocky Mount. He and his wife Jessie have one son, Jeremiah. He attended James Madison University where he earned his Bachelor of Science degree and then went on to earn his Masters from Radford in May of 2023. Council Member Mullins has been teaching science, biology, chemistry, and physics for 9 years, with 8 of those years at Franklin County High School. He began teaching online in September of 2022. Along with teaching, he has also owned and operated Rocky Mount Landscapes for the past 3 years. When he isn’t working, Council Member Mullins enjoys attending Rocky Mount Church of God, weekly basketball at the YMCA and family time.

  1. David K. Clements

    David K. Clements

    Council Member

    Council Member David Clements has been a lifelong resident of Rocky Mount and is the former owner of David Clements Plumbing, a business he operated for 48 years.  Council Member Clements also represents the Rocky Mount district on the Franklin County Planning Commission and he has been a member of the Rocky Mount Volunteer Fire Department for the past 46 years as a volunteer firefighter.

    Council Member Clements is a member of the Rocky Mount United Methodist Church and currently serves on the church Finance Committee. He has been married to his wife Susan Clements for 45 years and they have two grown children and one grandson.

  1. Newbill_Mark

    Mark Newbill

    Council Member

    Council Member Newbill has served on Rocky Mount Town Council for a total of 11 years, including 5 years as the Mayor of Rocky Mount. He is currently working as a contractor and enjoys showing dairy cattle. He also serves as a member of the Rocky Mount Rotary Club. Council Member Newbill wants to continue to make Rocky Mount a great place to live and work.

  1. Lee_Tyler

    Tyler Lee

    Council Member

    Council Member Lee is a native of Alcoa, Tennessee.  Council Member Lee attended Ferrum College and played tennis for Ferrum from 2010-2014.  He has a Bachelor’s Degree in Health Sciences and received his Masters of Healthcare Administration from Radford in May of 2021.  

    Council Member Lee cares about his community and is always striving to improve his community’s health and wellbeing. 

    He has a son and is married to Julie Kingery Lee. 

    Council Member Lee enjoys watching sports and relaxing.  He is currently using his coaching skills to help build relationships in the private banking industry and form partnerships with new and existing clients.  

    Council Member Lee is the youngest elected Council Member for the Rocky Mount Town Council on record.  


The government of the Town of Rocky Mount adheres to the Council-Manager form of government, with the Rocky Mount Town Council being the legislative policy-making body. The Council is composed of six members, elected at-large every two years in four-year staggered terms. The mayor is the chief presiding officer of the Town Council and is elected by the citizens for a term of four years. The vice mayor is elected by the Council to preside in the absence of the mayor.

The Council is organized into a committee system in which committees hear proposals and make recommendations to the full Council, and committee meetings are held periodically as needed.