Town Organization

The government of the Town of Rocky Mount adheres to the Council-Manager form of government, with the Rocky Mount Town Council being the legislative policy-making body. The Council is composed of six members, elected at-large every two years in four-year staggered terms. The mayor is the chief presiding officer of the Town Council and is elected by the citizens for a term of four years. The vice mayor is elected by the Council to preside in the absence of the mayor.

The Town Manager is appointed by Town Council to manage the day-to-day operations for the Town and to carry out the policies of the Town Council.

The Town of Rocky Mount encourages all of its citizens to actively participate in Town government. Regular Town Council meetings are held on the second Monday of each month at 6 pm in the Council Chambers of the Rocky Mount Municipal Building, located at 345 Donald Avenue, Rocky Mount. The Council is organized into a committee system in which committees hear proposals and make recommendations to the full Council, and committee meetings are held periodically as needed.

Other boards appointed by the Council include:

Any citizen requiring special accommodations to fully participate in the meetings should contact the Town Clerk's Office at 540-483-7660.

Town Council